The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP) Website:


The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP) is the principal body representing the medical specialty of psychiatry in Australasia and having responsibility for training, examining and awarding the qualification of Fellowship of the College to medical practitioners.

There are currently almost 2500 Fellows of the College who account for approximately 85 per cent of all practising psychiatrists in Australia and over 50 per cent of psychiatrists in New Zealand.

The vision of the College is "a fellowship of psychiatrists working with and for the general community to achieve the best attainable quality of psychiatric care and mental health".

General Council is the governing body and supreme policy making body of the College. There are branches of the College in each state of Australia, the ACT and New Zealand.

Within the College, specialist aspects of psychiatry are represented by two Faculties and five Sections.

  • Faculty of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Faculty of Psychiatry of Old Age
  • Section on Alcohol and Other Drugs
  • Section of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry
  • Section of Forensic Psychiatry
  • Section of Psychotherapy
  • Section of Social and Cultural Psychiatry
Through its various structures, the College:

  • conducts a training and examinations process for qualification as a consultant psychiatrist,
  • administers a maintenance of profession standards program (MOPS) for practising professionals,
  • holds an annual scientific congress and various sectional conferences throughout the year,
  • supports continuing medical education activities at a regional level,
  • publishes a range of journals, statements and other policy documents, and
  • liaises with government, allied professionals and community groups in the interests of psychiatrists, patients and the general community.


Australian and Zew Zeland Journal of Psychiatry

History of the College

The Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists was incorporated on 28 October 1963. Its incorporation was procured by The Australasian Association of Psychiatrists (founded in October 1946) with a view to its continuing the work of the Association. The College was granted the prefix Royal on 9 May 1977. The College celebrated its fiftieth anniversary in 1996.




Read All || Archive


WPA Meetings

Read All


WPA Newsletter

Read All


E - Learning

Signup || Login

WPA Secretariat

Powered By Logicsoft
© 2016 All right reserved World Psychiatric Association