January 2012
News from Royal College of Psychiatrists UK

Professor Dinesh Bhugra Past- President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists awarded CBE in the New Years Honours

Professor Dinesh Bhugra, Past-President of the Royal College of psychiatrists and President-Elect of the WPA was awarded CBE (the second highest civilian honour) by H.M. The Queen for services to psychiatry in the 2012 New Years Honours List

Professor Sue Bailey, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists said, 'I would like to extend my congratulations to Professor Dinesh Bhugra, the College’s Immediate Past President, for his CBE for services to psychiatry.

Professor Bhugra has been active within the College throughout his career, and was President from July 2008 until June 2011, previously having been Dean from 2003.

In 2009 Professor Bhugra founded the RCPsych Awards to recognise and reward excellence in psychiatry and mental health.

This year Professor Bhugra became President Elect of the World Psychiatric Association (WPA).

This recent honour not only recognises the major positive impact that Professor Bhugra has made in the field of mental health, but gives a voice to the 1 in 4 of us who will suffer from mental health problems over their lifetime.'




Read All || Archive


WPA Meetings

Read All


WPA Newsletter

Read All


E - Learning

Signup || Login

WPA Secretariat

Powered By Logicsoft
© 2016 All right reserved World Psychiatric Association